Monsoon Wedding Part 2

Wild-FennelRoadside-GrassPortuguese-Bouquet

I’m pleased to report that it didn’t rain and nor did the flowers die in the sweltering 30 degree heat was Portugal this last weekend. All went more than well, despite a few set backs; the Scabias arrived either dead or just as buds, the waxflower was pinky red, not creamy pink and a whole load of strange green lantern-like flowers arrived from the supplier as an apology. I guess it’s the thought that counts. It didn’t matter though, as by the time I came to inspect the bought stuff, I was already way too excited about the foraged stuff to care about the lack of cultivated stock I’d managed to get hold of. The important thing was that I had some beautiful roses, a car load of wild fennel and grasses that I’d cut from the coastal road verge on the way there and as far as the eye could see; amazing pine, Eucalyptus globulus and olive, all ripe for the picking. In the end the balance was right; the perfect combination of Portugal and England – just like the bride and groom.